How should I fuel my body?

I actually get asked this question fairly often. With so many diet fads and health trends it’s hard to navigate through it all and know what you are supposed to eat. High protein? Low carb? No fat? I say ignore everything you hear in media about ‘diets’. If you want results and success it can’t be a diet. You heard me! It’s not a diet that you need, it’s a fundamental change with your relationship with food. You need a new lifestyle.

The way I feed my family is very simple. Basically if your Great Grandmother wouldn’t recognize it as food, don’t eat it. More plainly put, only shop on the periphery of the grocery store and ignore all the middle aisles. This is commonly referred to as ‘Clean Eating’. Now, I know I am asking a lot of you. Do I occasionally go to the middle aisle for convenience items? Yes. But I limit it to only 10% of our food needs. I stick to about a 90/10 rule. 90% of what we consume is fresh, clean food in it’s WHOLE form and 10% is processed foods. Anytime I can I make things myself, I do so. Pancakes, bread, biscuits, muffins, granola bars, trail mix, etc. Not only can you limit the ingredients making it more nutritious, you can save money as well.

I have a pretty simple grocery list I stick to that I am going to copy below that you can use next time you shop. It will break it all down for you. It sounds like it’s really difficult but it’s actually very easy. You don’t have to reinvent the wheel here. I have put in the effort to lay it out, now you just need to go do it! Easier said than done, I know. But trust me, you will love the way you feel when you cut out processed foods. They are typically loaded with artificial ingredients, laden with sodium and fats. Eating clean is just taking it back to the basics. People often ask “Doesn’t it get boring eating clean?” Quite the contrary. I happen to think eating this way food tastes better, it’s dense in micronutrients so it’s obviously healthier for you and you tend to eat less over time. When you have a diet that is full of processed foods your bodies insulin levels can spike causing a hormonal warfare inside your body actually making your blood sugar dip low causing you to eat more. That’s why it’s a good idea to eat things that rate low on the glycemic index. We will get to that another day. 😉

If you have any questions regarding this please use the contact me tab and email me. I would love to help you ‘clean’ up your eating habits. Please see my eating clean list below. Have a FIT day everyone!

Serving Sizes:
PROTEIN = Handful size
COMPLEX CARB = Fist size
VEGGIE = Two handfuls
FATS = Small palm size
PROTEIN:

Eat mostly LEAN proteins. I do allow myself to have pork and beef occasionally but not often. No more than once a week of one or the other. If you get ground turkey and season it up, you can sneak it right past your taste buds and cut a lot of calories and fat.)

Extra Lean Ground Turkey- JennieO Brand/Butter Ball
Bison or Buffalo – Great choice and low calorie
Chicken- Grilled or baked
Fish – baked or grilled
Egg Whites – Boiled with salsa
Pork Tenderloin (Occasionally due to fatty content)
Ground Beef (Occasionally due to fatty content)

COMPLEX CARBS :
Steel Cut Oats
Quinoa
Brown Rice
Whole Wheat Bread of Ezekiel Bread
Beans
Corn or Wheat Tortillas or Ezekiel Wraps
Edemame
Sweet potatoes

VEGGIES: (Preparation is usually steaming or roasting in EVOO and Pepper and Garlic Powder)
Asparagus
Green Beans
Salad (watch your dressing, most are high in fat and NOT good)
Spinach
Cucumbers
Broccoli
Cauliflower
Romaine lettuce
Boston Lettuce
Yellow Squash
Zucchini Squash
Tomatoes
Butternut Squash
Spaghetti Squash (I use this instead of noodles when making spaghetti)
Peas
Bell Peppers
Carrots
Onions
Celery

HEALTHY FATS:

I prepare all my foods in Coconut Oil. It’s the best oil out there and will actually help you lose weight. It is VERY important that you don’t over eat so you don’t store the extra as fat. Adjust this according to your lifestyle. EX: Peanut Butter or PB2 is a good alternative, Avocado – 2 slices, Olive Oil – 1 tablespoon, Almonds, cashews or walnuts – A small palm size (8-10 nuts) Natural Peanut Butter – 1 tablespoon.

FRUIT:

I often get asked about my fruit intake. I pair it with a lean protein since fruit is a complex carb. I would limit fruit to one or two handful size servings per day. I usually try and eat fruit BEFORE noon. You can get as creative as you want with fruit. J

SEASONINGS:

Mrs. Dash’s salt free seasoning, sea salt, salsa, spicy mustard, garlic, lemon pepper, cumin, cayenne powder and onion powder are some good examples. I make my own taco and ranch seasoning rather than using the packets. You won’t get those crazy ingredients and you will avoid the extra sodium. You can look online for those recipes. Also you can use sugar substitutes like Agave nectar and Stevia to add some sweet without calories. Other favorites nutmeg and cinnamon.

WATER: 120-150oz of water a day. The only other beverage I drink is coffee in the morning or sparkling water and green tea.

SNACK IDEAS:

Celery sticks and low fat cream cheese
Cucumbers/Carrots and Hummus
Apple slices and Almond Butter
Pretzel Thins and Laughing Cow Cheese Wedge
Almonds and dried fruit
Greek Yogurt and Ezekiel Golden flax cereal sprinkled on top
Frozen Grapes and almonds
Banana and Almond Butter or PB2
Plain Greek Yogurt, fresh berries and sprinkle of Stevia

Leave a Reply

