My husbands first triathlon

I have to brag about my husband for a bit. He competed in his first triathlon this weekend and I am so proud of him. He’s been training for several months and he’s struggled with some knee pain – Chondromalacia Patella (think runners knee) and had been going to physical therapy. So we were both unsure if his knee would actually ‘hold up’.

I suffer from Plantar Fasciitis, so I know what it’s like to want to do something and your body having other plans. So he has been gradually adding more time on the bike, stretching, icing his knee and foam rolling to get this legs and knees up to par for this race.

The night before I made him spaghetti with meat sauce on whole wheat pasta and veggies to help carb load him up for the morning.

tri1

Saturday morning his alarm went off at 4:00 am (I slept upstairs – that’s too early for me!) and he got ready to go. I helped him get prepared the night before. I even set out his Shakeology and Results and Recovery formula to help him for the race.

The boys and I drove out there in hopes to cheer him on but by the time we got there he was already finished. I was so happy for him that he not only conquered his first triathlon, but that his knee lasted through. I am so proud.

Here’s a picture of the group after they finished.

tri2

And his number on his bike. It’s a little wind blown.

tri3Way to go babe! I am so proud of you and I can’t wait to do this with you next year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

