Ready, set, sweat

I haven’t officially started my training for the triathlon, but I have been cycling and running to make sure my legs and joints are conditioned. I unfortunately struggle with Plantar Fasciitis, which is very painful and I am too stubborn to rest to let it actually heal. What I usually do is put on my night splint (which I lovingly call ‘tha boot’) and ice when needed. This is what helps but I usually end up re-injuring it. It’s very common in runner’s and one of these days I will go and check out some fancy treatment. Meanwhile, while I have kids to wrangle and no time for stuff like that, I will stick to ice and ‘tha boot’.

I ran a couple nights ago and my goal was to run for 30 minutes – check! run So, I took the following day off and rested. Which was hard! Not because I am some super fit athlete….but because I enjoy sweating and getting a good workout in. Working out releases endorphins and it’s like a high. A legal one. So I enjoy that feeling and it gives me energy and usually makes dealing with my two knuckleheads a little bit easier. I need all the help I can get in that department. Chasing a toddler who is on a daily suicide mission and a pre-schooler who thinks destroying things to make his brother laugh, makes for a busy day. Working out just helps me cope! It’s my ‘fix’.

I plan on following a training program to help me get ready for the tri. I will post that below. Meanwhile, I will just be sticking to some running, cycling, swimming and Insanity. I will be posting my progress and keeping you up to date with how things are going. So any cheering and encouragement would be greatly appreciated! I hope this will also help you to chase after your dreams or even tackle things you would have previously dismissed.

Here is the training schedule…

MONTH 1

MON Off
TUES RUN: 20 minutes easy
WED BIKE: 30 minutes easy or indoor cycling class
THURS Off
FRI RUN: 20 minutes easy
SAT SWIM: 10 to 16 x 25 m easy, rest 20 seconds
SUN BIKE: 30 to 40 minutes easy or indoor cycling class

MONTH 2

MON Off
TUES *RUN: 3 to 4 Two-minute intervals
WED BIKE: 50 to 60 minutes easy or indoor cycling class
THURS SWIM: 8 to 10 x 75 m easy, rest 15 seconds
FRI RUN: 35 to 40 minutes easy
SAT SWIM: 8 to 10 x 75 m easy, rest 15 seconds
BRICK: BIKE: 30 minutes steady RUN: 20 to 30 minutes easy

 

MONTH 3

MON Off RUN: 6 to 8 two-minute intervals
TUES BIKE: 60 to 70 minutes easy
WED SWIM: 800 m easy
THURS RUN: 40 minutes easy
FRI SWIM: 800 m easy or 30 minutes in open water
BRICK: BIKE: 50 minutes steady RUN: 25 to 30 minutes easy

 

MONTH 1
SWIM: During weeks 3 and 4, swim 8 to 10 x 50 meters, rest 15 seconds.

BIKE/RUN: Increase by five minutes each week.

MONTH 2
SWIM: During weeks 3 and 4, swim 5 x 100 m, rest 15 seconds.

BIKE: Increase by five minutes each week.

*RUN: Begin interval training: Warm up for 15 minutes, then alternate two minutes at a faster pace with two minutes jog/walk. Cool down for 15 minutes; increase by one interval each week.

MONTH 3
During weeks 2 and 3, do the brick on Tuesday; on Sunday, do a mini tri (15-minute swim, 45-minute bike, 20-minute run). Race week: Revert to month 1, week 1. The day before your race, rest or swim easy for 10 minutes.

Your Building Bricks
Back-to-back bike-run training workouts (a.k.a. “bricks”) are essential—they’ll teach you to run on legs that feel like jelly after hopping off the bike. “The first mile always feels as if someone else’s legs have been grafted to your body,” says Cane. “It’ll feel lousy—but since triathletes prepare themselves with brick workouts, they hit their stride pretty quickly.”

I hope to follow as closely as possible. My only concern is the swimming and having the kiddos. I don’t have a place I can take them to train. I would have to get the husband to watch them and go. Plus I have to buy a bathing suit (ugh) and wear it in front of others (double ugh). Oh well! I have to get over my body issues and get this done. Maybe I can swim in a t-shirt and shorts?! :-/ Heh.

 

Leave a Reply

