Memorial Day Feast

I love a good reason to celebrate especially when it involves food! I have a passion for food, BUT, I know that just because there is an excuse or a holiday that doesn’t mean I have carte blanch to indulge and over do it. One thing that makes me think of Memorial Day besides the obvious meaning behind the holiday, is grilling and cookouts. So I decided that we would do a small cookout just the four of us. It was a great time!

What was on the menu? Well, mostly healthy choices. To snack on we had a veggie tray with ranch dip. (See we weren’t too strict) I allow for some ‘treats’ on the weekend. If I work this damn hard, I deserve a treat. I don’t call it a cheat because that implies you are doing something wrong. We did enjoy some peppered angus beef burgers on ciabatta buns. We also did our meal prep for the week on the grill. It was so fast and easy and now I have tons of food for the week. Two birds, one grill…err stone. For sides I made a delicious green salad, summer veggies on the grill and a berry salad. YUM! Everything was bright, vibrant and delicious and healthy! I don’t know what it is about the grill that adds such amazing flavor to food but I am seriously obsessed and couldn’t be happier that grilling season is officially here.

memorial day spread

What did you do for Memorial Day? Contact me and let me know!

8 thoughts on “Memorial Day Feast

  1. floridafit2013

    Good for you for not going crazy with the many not-so-healthy choices that usually abound on Memorial Day!! My family had a party with so many good looking desserts but I settled for a couple extra servings of fruit and felt just fine about it at the end of the day. The best part is spending quality time with good people anyways, right? πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. aregularcupofjo

    Great post and the pictures look amazing. It is making me hungry right now. I paid my respects to our fallen and I went for a couple runs on Memorial Day. Best of luck with everything and I hope you enjoyed your holiday too πŸ™‚

    Reply
      1. aregularcupofjo

        If you ever want to read some funny and inspirational stores from my life, you are more than welcome to come by my blog and have a Cup of Joe πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

