It’s a little dusty in here…

Okay, so yeah…it’s been a LONG time since I have updated this thing and for that, I am sorry! Somehow life happens and some things just take a back seat. So what have I been doing lately…allow me to update you.

In July, my husband was laid off from his job and we were faced with a lot of uncertainty. His job is very technical and it’s a really niche type industry and we really kinda knew we would most likely be relocating. I grew up in Texas all my life and this meant uprooting our entire family and going somewhere I had never been. This was BIG! Thankfully my husband found an awesome job with an amazing company very quickly. Just under a month of being laid off he snagged a new job…in San Diego, CA. So now the time came for us to start packing up, staging our home to put it on the market and putting together a cross country move. During that time I was also finishing up school through Lifetime Fitness Academy. By the skin of my teeth I finished. Now, I just need to take my ACE exam.

Also during this already crazy time, my Grandfather was really sick and ultimately passed away. He was more than a Grandfather to me. He was a father (he stepped in where my biological father stepped out), a role model and a Hero. He was so many things to me and I was devastated about the loss, but at peace that he was no longer suffering. So to say I had a lot on my plate was an understatement.

We eventually left our home in Murphy, TX and headed out on a family road trip/vacation. We visited the Carlsbad Caverns, Painted Desert, Petrified Forest, Glen Canyon, Grand Canyon, Las Vegas and Hoover Dam on the way into California (our new home). It has been quite the adventure. We are living in Corporate Housing that his company is providing for us while we find our new home.

It’s been a crazy few months and I am still in shock about some of it, but it’s nice to be settling into a new normal and get a fresh start. So, count on me to keep posting updates, encouragement, motivation, recipes, etc. My next hurdle is to get that ACE test over with and find a gym and start changing lives! Look for me in a gym around the San Diego area.

Leave a Reply

